About Us | Graceland Fairlawn

About Us

Reviews

We receive many letters from the families we've served, thanking us for our caring ways during their time of loss. Their words warm our hearts, and speak to you of our professionalism, compassion, and the true value of the services we provide.

  • June 15, 2017

    Graceland, It was such a thoughtful gesture. Thank you for treating my family so kind during my father's death. Thank you for working with me. I will always value all of your kindness and love.

    Kendra O.
  • May 19, 2017

    Dear Mr. Goebel and all involved in serving the cannon family: I personally, as well as Mrs. C. and family of the esteemed pastor/missionary, P.C., thank you and commend you for your great show of kindness, compassion, and consideration shown to them in their situation. The lengths that all of you went to in providing the services they so desperately needed was truly beyond the norm in all my 30 years of pastoring and dealing, to some degree, somewhat similar situations. I personally highly recommend you whenever given the opportunity and will continue to do so. Again, I say "you have demonstrated the true meaning of a funeral "service" versus mere funeral "business". In deepest gratitude,

    Pastor Jack G.
  • January 25, 2017

    David, I would like to express appreciation to you and all of your staff for your caring assistance with my Mother's funeral and burial arrangements. We have received numerous comments from family and friends who felt the service was an excellent representation of her life. Thank you for suggesting J. He did an excellent job, and despite never having met Mom, managed to make the service loving and personal. Also the staff who assisted us at the funeral, could not have been more warm, caring, and helpful. We are glad that the service and arrangements helped us to truly celebrate Mom's 98 years.

    M
  • December 22, 2016

    I'm writing back to say how pleased I was (and our family) with everything to do with my departed husband's services. I made a wise choice in choosing your organization! At a time when grief is prominent, all of you were sincerely helpful, professional and I will never forget it. I've shared your marvelous attributes with a lot of people. Thank you from the bottom of my heart! Please don't ever change your priorities. Sincerely, C.G.

    C.G.
  • November 17, 2016

    Shannon, Bruce, Angie & Staff: Thank you so much for all the time and attention you put into our Dad's service. You made it a sweet memory & lasting tribute to our father. Your attention to every detail did not go unnoticed. Your kindness, sympathy, & hard work was so appreciated. I would not hesitate to recommend GF to our friends & family. Thanks again.

    DW
  • November 03, 2016

    Dear Mr. Pettit, Mom's celebration of life was amazing - from the slide show, the music, pastor Joel, to the guest book and all that was with it. Mom looked really nice and the room was beautiful. Everything was done so well and was very impressive. Thank you so much for making her day a little brighter for everyone attending. Forever grateful,

    Hofstetter Family
  • October 21, 2016

    Chandler, there are no words to express how much we appreciate you! Your excellence was shown every step of the way in preparations of mom's service. You are valued to Graceland Fairlawn. I'm sure they know it! Thank you so much! We're glad it was you!!

    Neal Family
  • I just want to thank you for the care provided my dear sister. She looked so lovely. Thank you so much for the military salute, it was incredible. We were so grateful that we made those arrangements. I wish you many blessings as you continue to care for other families. -S.F

    S.F
  • Daisy & John, Thank you and your staff for facilitation funeral services for our beloved H. We received many compliments on how beautiful and serene she looked. Sincerely, The S Family

    The S Family
  • Dearest Bill & Team, You cannot even begin to imagine how much pain you have taken away from us. Thank you for looking after our little girl one last time. Thank you for your kindness and may God Bless you and your loved ones. -C & D

    C & D
  • David, These words pretty much say my sincere thoughts. Your demonstration of kindness and sense of fairness will never be forgotten. We are thanking the Lord for you. -Pastor J.G & Family

    Pastor J.G & Family
  • Just wanted to thank you for the best service I've ever got from someone..we got alot of compliments.my mother would have been proud. Once again thank you My greatest appreciation, M.L.S

    M.L.S
  • We wanted to congratulate your funeral home on two of your employees. Daisy and Kelley made us feel like family throughout the entire time they helped us. Some funeral homes have a reputation for taking advantage of families during a time when families are so vulnerable. Daisy and Kelley each earned our trust and admiration as they represented Graceland Fairlawn in every aspect of the services they provide. We are grateful to have received their help. - R & S.T

    R & S.T
  • I can't thank you enough for the wonderful services provided by Daisy and Kelly. They were excellent! My dad's services we're all and more that I could have hoped for. Every detail was attended to. Our entire family was well pleased and we are happy to refer our friends and family to you. God bless you for the fine work you do, but even more for the compassionate way you do it. J.D

    J.D
  • I wanted to let you know how much we appreciated Daisy and Kelly and how they took care of us in the preparing for our father's visitation and funeral. They were professional yet warm and caring. Perfect combination! My close friend was there when Daisy came to pick up my father and she was very impressed with how caring and professional Daisy was. She loved the idea with leaving the rose on the pillow! Thank you! D.T

    D.T
  • I am from Utah and had to deal with your facility before and during the death of my father-in-law (D.W.R). Overall it was a good experience but if not for Chelsea Wilkerson that rating may not have a ten for ten. She worked with us before the death through a difficult situation and followed up at the end when it seemed we had hit a wall. Thank you to her and to Graceland for helping the Riddle family through a tough situation. I would recommend your funeral home to anyone especially if they had Chelsea to work with. Kudos Chelsea they are blessed to have you. C.A.R

    C.A.R
  • Mr. Goebel, Thanks again for allowing out troops to help out with Graceland's 20th annual Memorial Day Weekend activities. Our scouts are given a valuable opportunity to learn some life lessons about honor, civic duty and citizenship as they serve our veterans and their families seeking to pay their respects to loved ones. We hope to continue helping you and your staff in coming years. Thanks again from all of us!

    S.G Scoutmaster
  • Good evening, I just wanted to say thank you for making moms funeral, run smoothly and making it very a lovely & beautiful experience. As a pastor, I was impressed with how friendly your entire staff was. The accompanist you provided was excellent! And the dove release at the mausoleum was spectacular. I just wanted to say thank you for the positive experience we all felt. Blessings, Pastor L. L Memorial Baptist Church Tulsa, Oklahoma

    Pastor L.L
  • Graceland-Fairlawn Friends: We were touched by your caring support at the loss of D's mother J.B. The flowers were beautiful and your prayers were felt. Thanks again for your act of kindness! J&L.B - T.A - D&D.B

    D.B
  • Thank you for everything you have done for us. All of the personal touches were completely perfect. You all are fantastic and we appreciate you more than you could ever know! Love from all The E Family!

    The E Family
  • Thank you for taking such fine care of G and providing such a good service. I appreciate it E.W

    E.W
  • To Shannon & All, God Bless you all. You all are sweet & amazing espacially you Shannon. Thank you all for your help & all you did for my brother and family to help us get through all those rough days.

    -
  • Graceland-Fairlawn Staff: Thank you for all of your kind words and support during this difficult time. We would also like to express our deepest thanks to Bruce for his guidance during this time. Thank you, J&M

    J & M
  • Shannon, Wanted to take the opportunity to say thanks to you and the folks at Graceland-Fairlawn funeral home. Everyone was very cooperative and helpful in planning the visitation for my mom. The week was very busy and stressful for us and it was comforting to be able to count on the fact that Graceland had things covered so well. I believe the visitation that we had is what my mom would have wanted and that the people who came by found it a good way to remember her and to say goodbye. It was also a good place for many family members to gather and catch up during this time. The follow up meeting last Friday was beneficial and I’ve had the chance to look over the materials provided. It was also reassuring that mom’s remains were ready on Friday as you’d told us they would be. I understand that mom’s death certificate will take a little longer as it comes from Sangamon county (hopefully, that comes in soon so we can begin the process of settling her estate). It’s not something that anyone wants to do but I believe we are moving forward in a helpful/healthy way – this is due, in large part, to the assistance you and the folks at Graceland provided. Thank you for the comforting and respectful environment that Graceland provided. D and C.H

    D & C.H
  • Shannon, I cannot find words other than Thank You for everything you did for Dad's services last week. Even not being there I felt connected with the process and you immediately connected with me when I arrived Saturday. The compassion you show for the families is a gift. Below is the posting I wanted to have out there. Thank you again, K.D With the passing of my father last week, I cannot express enough gratitude to Shannon Bull and Kelly Altenberd. This was also Kelly's grandfather but she stayed a true professional through the final planning. Shannon is a director with a heart of gold. She went the extra mile to assure everything we wished for was carried out. The compassion she expressed for our family was over and above what was expected. This is not just a job for her but a passion to help families through those motional moments. Thank you both.

    K.D
  • Dear Shannon - We extend many thanks to you for helping us with the arrangements for our dad. You communicated clearly your desire to provide what we wanted and you followed through to accommodate our requests. Your interactions with us was authentic and your behavior was professional with just the right amount of "bubbly" We appreciated the dignity and respect you showed to our father and to all of us. You gently guided us through the process. You were there with us every step of the way, from the first step when you arrived at the building to the last step at the crematory. We are grateful you were there to help us begin the journey of life without our beloved father.

    The L. Family
  • Shannon - You give so much of yourself in the kindness you show and the lives you touch. That's why deserve a heartfelt " thank you" and a wish that all the goodness you share comes back to you. Thank you for the women you are!

    M.L.
  • I JUST WANTED TO LET YOU KNOW THAT MY FAMILY WAS VERY VERY PLEASED WITH THE WAY AUNT BETTY LOOKED FOR HER SERVICE TODAY. SHANNON DID AN EXCELLENT JOB. AUNT BETTY NEVER WORE MAKE UP OR NAIL POLISH AND HER HEAR WAS USUALLY JUST COMBED STRAIGHT DOWN BUT TODAY SHE LOOKED GREAT. SEVERAL FAMILY MEMBERS HAD COMMENTED HOW GOOD SHE LOOKED. WE HAVE ALWAYS HAD EXCELLENT CARE FROM YOUR FACILITIES BUT WITH AUNT BETTY YOU GUYS WENT OVER THE TOP. THANK YOU SO MUCH. THE NEELEY FAMILY

    S.M.
  • I want to Thank all the staff and Daisy for helping me plan my Mothers Service, I have gotten many compliments, that it was the most beautiful service they had ever been to . The beautiful watercolor done by Joel.

    J.T.
  • I want to thank Kelly and Tiffany for helping me select my cemetery lots and for their kindness and compassion with the after care I have received since my Mothers D. C. funeral.

    J.T.
  • Dear Dave - My family and I wanted to thank you and your staff for the manners in which you conducted affairs for our beloved husband and father. The care, compassion and support given to us at a very challenging time was greatly appreciated.

    D.
  • On behalf of the J. K. W.'s Family and her Children we wanted to say thank you especially from the bottom of our hearts. In our time of bereavement you have went above and beyond, and made this process so special for us and for that we would like to thank everyone who help out.

    The W. Family
  • The Corpus Christi Procession honors the Lord's presence in the Eucharist in a very special way. Our celebration this year was such a great success because of your time, energy and dedication. Thank you!

    Dan Perryman and Father Nick Husain
  • Dear Bill - A belated thank you for the outstanding compassion and understanding you showed wit the burial of the ashes of my sister R. E. The family is very appreciative that you allowed the graveside service. And thank you for the guidance in helping me write the obituary your kindness will be long remembered and appreciated.

    D.
  • Bill - thank you so much for everything, you made me laugh and joke around and made everything as easy as you could. Thank you from the bottom of my heart.

    J.
  • Dear Chelsea, Your e-mail of March 20th was/is most appreciated. I had hoped to acknowledge it sooner than this but other matters intervened and I am only now able to concentrate on the response it deserves. It was extremely kind of you to write, as was your having said those words for us all at J's interment. Your presence and participation in that interment made it that much more reassuring to J, J's friends, and to me. From the start, you have been all J. or I could have wished, not only professional but genuinely caring. I have nothing but praise for you and it is well-deserved praise. When I was sixteen I spent the summer with my uncle who was a funeral director in Delaware. That experience taught me about high professional standards, personal integrity, and generosity of spirit. My uncle embodied them all. So do you.

    MB
  • Dear Chelsea, I am not usually at a loss for words but on receiving your latest e-mail I find it difficult to express my gratitude except to say a heartfelt thank you for your generosity of spirit. Sincerely

    MB
  • So it’s a go on the monument. I showed several people/family too and they all thought it looked great. I’m so thankful for you, Shannon and John B for working so closely with me and helping me thru all this. All the staff that helped at the visitation and the service were just so professional and kind. Also Mikey for all his part in this, he does really nice work, and the 2 ladies at Moran’s that listened to me a few times while I waited for Mikey. I really appreciated everything and everyone so much. I’m glad I chose Graceland/Fairlawn as the final resting place for M. and some day me. It’s been kinda weird to see my name on a monument and pick all this stuff out, but now it’s done and my child won’t have to worry. Thanks again.

    T.
  • Patrick has been a delight in his service by him. Why? He displayed the following qualities: 1. a genuine love for people 2. somewhat a perfectionist in a good way ( very detailed and exploratory) 3. persistent in a good and kind way 4. a good listener and shows empathy.

    V.H.
  • Thoughtfulness like yours is appreciated more than words can say.

    The Family of J.T.
  • Dear Shannon - thank you so much for all your kindness and help in making arrangements for my brother K's wide, M.S. This was a difficult time for our family and your compassion and thoughtfulness was greatly appreciated. M. loved flowers and i believe she looked down, saw the 2 beautiful arrangements and i know she had the biggest smile on her face when she saw them and was so delighted with them.

    K.S.
  • It is with heartfelt thanks to you and your staff for all you did for the families of J. U.C.. In the process of collecting monies for the arrangements, the family received the call from you that Graceland/Fairlawn was taking care of all of everything at no cost to the family. God is truly awesome and so are you! The beautiful video will be a lasting memorial to be cherished always. Thank you again and God bless each one of you.

    J’s family and friends
  • Wolf Den #3 would like to sincerely thank you for your time and efforts in teaching us about the flag and facilitating our meeting. Thank you for being a leader in our community.

    Wolf Den #3
  • Dear Shannon - Thank you so much for all your kindness and help in making the final arrangements for my brother K's wife. This was a difficult time for our family and you compassion and thoughtfulness was greatly appreciated. M. loved flowers and I believe she looked down, saw the 2 beautiful arrangements and I know she had the biggest smile on her face when you saw them and was so delighted with them. Thank you again for your kindness.

    K.S.
  • Graceland - Thank you so much for your help and understanding providing us with such a great gift during this difficult time. The services you provide to the community in regards to children was beyond helpful.

    M.K.
  • We can't thank you enough for everything you've done for us. Thank you for your support. We the R. Family appreciate all you do at Graceland Fairlawn.

    The R. & S. Family
  • I want to take a moment to thank the kindness shown to me,my husband and my aunt during my mothers passing N. McQ.,a special thank you for my dolphin pendant with some ash's in it means the world to me,Once again thank you so much for everything.

    P.Z.
  • Dear John - I would like to thank your staff for the preparation and handling of our mothers graveside services on September 4th, 2013. Specifically I would like to thank Bill Petit and especially Tiffany Wilkerson for getting us through this difficult and emotional time. Tiffany and Bill are excellent and deserve special recognition.

    The W. Family
  • August 26, 2013

    Your heart is very giving and mine is very grateful

    F & M C.
  • August 12, 2013

    My family and I want to thank you for setting up the tent, chairs and flowers for my husband's family memorial services on July 27th. Everything was just as we asked it to be. My husband D.W. would have been pleased. Our sincere thanks.

    H.W.
  • August 12, 2013

    Mr. Robert Stone, On behalf of the family of P.L. we want to thank you. My step mother died and was laid to rest by your funeral home. We truly appreciated your kindness and wonderful service. Everything was perfect. Thanks again!

    B.M.
  • July 31, 2013

    The family of the late M. G. would like to express their deepest gratitude and appreciation for all the love, kindness, and thoughtful gestures that have been bestowed upon them during this time of bereavement . May God Bless you!

    The M.G.
  • July 31, 2013

    My family and I want to thank you for setting up the tent, chairs, and flowers for my husband’s memorial services. Everything was just as we asked it to be. My husband D. W. would have been pleased. Our sincere thanks

    H.W.
  • July 29, 2013

    Hello Shannon, I just wanted to take a moment to Thank You for working so hard to make my Father-in-laws services so special. It was a very difficult time for us and you guys really helped us capture who he was. I really appreciate you finalizing all the details before you left for vacation and making sure everything is how we wanted it to be. I realize that you deal with this daily and I appreciated the fact that you made it feel as if this was the most important one because for us it was.

    E.C.
  • July 18, 2013

    Hi! My name is B.C. and my mother, N., is buried in Fairlawn Cemetery. As a West End resident, I am able to visit Mom's grave regularly, change flowers, etc. and am always pleased with how well-kept the cemetery is, the privacy and the peace I feel when I am there

    B.C.
  • July 18, 2013

    Dear Mr. Goebel, Once again, we thank you for allowing troop 134 to be a part of the Memorial Day weekend activities at Graceland Fairlawn. Its a moving experience for all of us to be a small part of it. We appreciate it!

    Troop 134
  • June 27, 2013

    To all of the staff who assisted with my grandson Z.C. you all did a marvelous job! Thanks a million with lots of love.

    S.
  • June 24, 2013

    John - Thanks so much for your help and awesome act of kindness towards my cousins T. & T. G. You are a true blessing in this time of heartache.

    J.B.
  • May 02, 2013

    Tiffany - Thank you so much for the assistance you provided to our family. Your kind and caring ways made it a little easier for us.

    J. & S. B.
  • May 08, 2013

    Everything was great and Mom looked beautiful. She is happy, I'm sure, in her mauve bed, now able to sleep peacefully. The flight of doves was lovely. Thank you for everything, Shannon. Best regards.

    J.
  • May 13, 2013

    Dear Mr. Goebel and Staff - The members of the SADD Chapter would like to join me in expressing their heartfelt appreciation for all of the time and effort you put into making the Mock Crash at St. Teresa High School a reality and success. We felt the message was strong and well received. Your personal touch and empathy were certainly felt by the people who played the roles of the parents and the victim. The actual mother of the victim was also at the event and was touched. We did show the rose to several classes the following day for those who were unable to see it at the event. Our Prom was successful and incident free. We could not have done this without your contribution. Thank you for the very difficult job you do. We have posted pictures to the St. Teresa Advancement Facebook page as well as to the St. Teresa High School webpage under SADD for future reference. Our students, faculty and staff greatly appreciate your continuous support.

    K.L.
  • May 09, 2013

    Dear Eric, Bill and Barbara and Staff - Thank you all or helping us give mom the beautiful and loving farewell we wanted for her. A special thank you to Eric for his help in pre-planning, to Bill and Eric for meeting with us on "blizzard" Monday to finalize details, to Barbara for her patience with us on the day of mom's service ( managing to corral all of us into the funeral car) and to all the staff for their kindness and attention to detail. Mom looked beautiful and we are grateful for the attention given to her from her hair to the color of her fingernail polish everything was perfect. We were so happy with the DVD - the pictures of mom and so many of her loved ones, helped us feel that those who couldn't be there due to distance and/or health were with us in spirit to say goodbye. Thank you also for allowing our little dog, Teddy, come to the service. He brought mom a lot of joy and laughter with his visits and it seemed only right that he be there that day.

    J.M
  • January 01, 2013

    I so appreciate and enjoyed talking with you at the time of my mother-in laws visitation and funeral. You are very comforting. God bless you in your ministering to families during the difficult time of loss.

    B. G.
  • December 07, 2012

    Robert, I just wanted to express my sincere thanks for the love, care, and support we received during the passing of my father-in-law, M. R. I have never in my life seen a funeral staff so kind, caring, and compassionate. I can not tell you how much that helped all of us during this difficult time. In a world where people are around death all the time, it is very nice to be treated in such a manor. I was personally touched by the woman (funeral assistant)(I can't recall her name), who embraced my mother-in-law more than once. She showed genuine care, and love to Mom. We live out of state but I have told everyone about how we were treated at Graceland Fairlawn. If every funeral home had such a wonderful and compassionate outlook towards families, the experience would be so much better for all of us. Thank you again for the support and love we received. It did not go unnoticed. Many Blessings

    V.S.
  • The men have done so much work cleaning up after the Tornado. The grass always looks nice.There was lots of weeding done.it looks great .Jerry has plays taps for the kolean was vets for 10 years and these year was the best.we saw it in our poper to remins folks to attend there was lots of people there.the gun salute-music-Taps & Bagpipe was such a vivid reminder of what our service people have done for us. The “Flight Home” was beautiful. It was good to see the boy scouts too and the refreshments after such a warm(Hot) memorial were very nice. The people at the front very helpful & informative. Memorial day is sometimes a hard & emotional day so you all made it a good day. Thank you for all your work thru the year.

    Laura and Jerry Moriette
  • Dear Mr. Stork, I wish to thank you and your staff on behalf of my brother, and out bereaved family for your prompt and professional attention to our needs at this time, and to wish you personally, and professionally a long and continued success in the excellent manner you are managing two of Decatur’s proudest assets and landmarks dating to early into the last century. Your memorial gardens and crematorium/chapel reflect modern appeal to all generations lucky enough to be raised in a dynamic Decatur area… Sincerely,

    WS
  • On behalf of the D. and N. Families, We would like to say we are truly thankful to have entrusted our loved one (my dad H.D. Jr) in your care. From the first phone call, to receiving his body, to our final goodbye at Memorial Park, the staff was professional, caring, loving, and supportive. The D. family has used your services in the past (e.g. M.D., P.W.), and were very pleased. This was my first time being involved in planning a funeral. I now understand why our family has been so pleased with your services. Robert Stone was a “God send” for me. He did not treat me as a business transaction. He truly came across with genuine care and concern to make this as positive and stress free of an experience as possible. He was very personal and professional. He did a great job making sure to present my dad during his final viewing as handsome, peaceful, and proud!!! Mike, who handled the programs, was very patient with me and very helpful offering creative options. He went above and beyond to make sure everyone would be very pleased with the program and obituary. Kay was so welcoming, friendly, and helpful. I felt like I had known her for years. For all the staff that worked directly with us, as well as those that worked behind the scenes, we pray that each one of you be richly blessed for the incredible work that you do supporting families like ours through such a difficult period. Please know that you all did an awesome job making me and my family feel very loved, supported, and special. Blessings to each one of you!

    P.N. and the D/N families
  • Graceland-Fairlawn, This letter of appreciation comes to your attention belated, but not diminished. Our sincere appreciation for your thoughtfulness will continue for years to come. BGR will one day also thank you for taking respectful care of her earthly body. She is now in the care of God the Father, her maker. As her grandfather, I am sending to you a small gift of appreciation so that it may help your organization to continue with assisting others in the future. Thank you!

    LR & PR
  • Mr. Goebel, I would like to thank you for hiring such a caring and considerate staff! My family had a graveside service for my husband, F., at the new columbarium. The service was wonderful from the water that was brought to us, to the chairs that were there waiting for us, to the dove release- everything was just perfect. Angela Burchett, Rob Stone, Sharon Ross and John Brosam are the wonderful people that helped me through this sad part of my life. I must mention that a gentleman had to cut an inch off of my husband’s “box” so it would fit in the niche. He did a great job, I was really pleased! “Gator” took me to the niche to be sure it fit and I stayed while he locked it up. He is a “great” guy! Blessings to you, PS. Please share this note with these kind and “special people.”

    S.J.M.